NewsJune 03 2015

Lyman reunion moves to Clubhouse

Posted by Lucy

The Lyman alumni association officers met Wed., May 20 to complete plans for the 2015 school reunion to be held Saturday, July 25.

The alumni gathering will be held at the Medicine Creek Golf Course Clubhouse from 6 pm to 9 pm. It was decided that the alumni association will furnish pork loin sandwiches, prepared by the clubhouse staff, and alumni may bring appetizers, chips, salads or desserts if they desire. A free will offering will be taken for the sandwiches.

There is no need to secure a spiking permit as the clubhouse has a full liquor license.

The officers went through applications for the Lyman Alumni Scholarship and selected a winner that will be announced at the alumni gathering in July.

Honor classes will be those ending in "5" and "0." A representative from each honor class will be asked to introduce the class and the class will be asked several trivia game questions based on their high school class. The Lyman County Herald will take photos of the honor classes for publication in the following week’s issue.

A short business meeting to elect officers for the next year will be held.

Current officers are Jim Cole, president; Norval Millard, 2nd – president, Christie Collins, 3rd- president, Shelli Collins, secretary, and Lucy Halverson, treasurer.

All Lyman alumni are invited to attend, no other invitations will be sent out. Officers ask that you notify classmates of the reunion and join the Lyman Alumni Facebook page at Lyman High School Alumni (South Dakota).

NewsMay 27 2015

Remebering those who gave all

Posted by Lucy

Tom Perry, a US Marine Corp. veteran, was the guest speaker at services in Kennebec and Reliance. Seated on the stage, l-r; Charley Hamer, and Kent Hamiel, Post Commander. A potluck dinner was held at the Kennebec gym following the service.

NewsMay 27 2015

Presho HS reunion set

Posted by Lucy

By Jan Rabern

The 2015 PHS all-school reunion will take place on the last weekend in July. On Saturday, July 25th, the banquet will be held at the Christ the King parish hall, with the doors opening at 5:00, and the banquet beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Following the meal a brief business meeting will be held. The distinguished alumnus will be named, and the honored classes, those ending in "0" and "5", will be introduced. Guests will then be treated to a program featuring talented PHS graduates Diana Boe and Gordon Garnos.

This year’s event commemorates the 100th anniversary of the first four-year graduating class of PHS. There were eight members of the class of 1915: Maella McKim, Hollis Andis, Donald Crawford, Maclin Walters, Pearl Fahrenwald, Elsie Beale, Edmund Harrington, and Kenneth West.

The PHS Association would like to extend a special invitation to members of the 1971 and 1972 graduates of East and West Lyman.

The Saturday evening meal will be prepared and served by the Catholic ladies organization. PHS alumni members are asked to provide salads and desserts.

On Sunday, a private room has been reserved at Hutch’s Café for a pay-as-you-go breakfast/brunch from 9:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.

Make your plans now to be a part of the PHS Alumni activities. Come, share a meal, socialize and reminisce with your friends.

NewsMay 20 2015

Lyman holds Commencement

Posted by Lucy

Lyman School Board president Marlene Reuman presented twenty six graduating seniors with diplomas from Lyman High School during the 43rd annual Commencement held at the gym in Presho Saturday May 16. Seniors pictured after receiving their diplomas are l-r: Rachel Chester, Nick Hayes, Trey Gourneau, Gabe Grassrope, Lacey Hollenback, Emmitt Houchin, and Chelsea Iron Thunder.    

Go to page  1 2 3 ...... 489 490 491

Theme by Xen