NewsJuly 22 2015

PHS alumni to meet Saturday

Posted by Lucy

The 2015 PHS all-school reunion will be held Saturday, July 25th at the Christ the King parish hall in Presho. Doors open at 5:00 pm, and the banquet will start about 6:00 pm.

The Saturday evening meal will be prepared and served by the Catholic ladies organization. PHS alumni members are asked to provide salads and desserts.

A brief business meeting to elect officers will take place after the banquet followed by a short program to name the 2015 distinguished alumnus. Those classes ending in "0" and "5" will be recognized and announced.

While this year’s event commemorates the 100th anniversary of the first four-year graduating class of PHS that included eight graduates in 1915.

Several members of the class of 1940 including Dean Brakke, Arlene Ambur, and Daryld Walters all of Presho are expected to attend and celebrate their 75th reunion.

Friday evening, the museum will be open from 5 - 7 pm and they invite everyone to their free will donation wine and cheese event.

On Sunday, a private room has been reserved at Hutch’s Café for a pay-as-you-go breakfast/brunch from 9:00 am until 1:00 pm.

Make your plans now to be a part of the PHS Alumni activities, socialize and reminisce with your friends at the annual all-school reunion.

NewsJuly 15 2015

2015-2016 Lyman School Board

Posted by Lucy

The 2015-2016 Lyman School Board of Education reorganized at the July 13th meeting and welcomed two new members. Back row; l-r; Kimm Schweitzer, Matt Collins, Rolly Cropsey, and Dennis Stanley. Front; l:r Jamie Griffith, Kenny Hamer, Meta Halverson, Jodi Smith and Ronda Schelske.

NewsJuly 15 2015

New board members seated; Halverson elected chairwoman

Posted by Lucy

The 2014-2015 Lyman School board met for the last time Monday night to complete end of the year business including approving next year’s budget for $5.8 million.

Following nearly 45 minutes in executive session, the board approved one staff resignation and six new or changed contracts.

Maxine Urban resigned from her morning bus route and school custodian position to accept the head cook job at Presho.

Contracts were offered to Anthony (Tony) Callahan for high school social studies and geometery; Jill Scott for Kennebec third grade; and Michelle Boer for an aide at Presho. Changes in contracts were approved for Darcy Johnson who will move to Presho third grade and Heidi Samco who moves up to fifth grade at Kennebec.

The board approved the 2015 school board election results and reviewed and revised district handbooks. Some of the areas receiving revisions included; middle school student participation in high school sports, student and teacher dress code, student absences, open gym policies, grading procedures for rounding to nearest letter grade, teacher meeting attendance, and removal of soda pop machines.

The board adorned and reorganized for the 2015-2016 meeting following a short break.

New board members Meta Halverson, Rolly Cropsey and Matt Collins were sworn into office, and Halverson was elected chairwoman and Jodi Smith vice-chair. Board committee assignments were made adding Collins and Cropsey both to building and grounds, Stanley and Smith to finance, Collins to transportation; Schweitzer to negotiations and Cropsey to technology.

The board tabled requests from Rene Lillebo and Marchelle Carson for educational stipends until the policy is reviewed.

The board approved a 10 cents increase to school lunch, and set the chain of command at each school site as follows; Presho – Principal Boer, Marty Eriksen, and Renelle Uthe; at Kennebec Principal Lillebo, Chad Johnson and Mike Kieffer.

Superintendent Vlasman recommended increasing pay for substitute bus drivers to attract more applicants. The fee is for one route morning or afternoon and would double for the entire day.

The board approved substitute bus driver pay as follows per route; $38 for a small bus; $42 standard bus and $45 for Lower Brule routes, and .42 cents per mile for activities with a $9 per hour stand by rate.

It was suggested that the fee for substitute teachers be increased from $75 per day to $85 and that support staff called in to substitute would receive the same fee. The board will vote on substitute fees at the next meeting.

In other action the board approved the following:

Resolution to allow staff to buy back years of service with a lump sum rather than a monthly payment.

Two school exemption applications for home school.

Change In-service from Sept. 16 to Sept. 17.

NewsJuly 08 2015

4th of July sparkler art

Posted by Lucy

Photo By Heather Core/LCH

A group of kids spelled out the word LYMAN with sparklers Friday night during a family fireworks display held at the home of Gary and Kathy Diehm. L-r; Kacie Wagner, Briar Schweitzer, Conway Collins, Nikki Collins and Jaxx Collins and Andrea Diehm.

Go to page  1 2 3 4 5 ...... 491 492 493

Theme by Xen